iCF Single Reviews #5 (Week of October 12, 2008)

Alright, I’m back… this time, I’m hoping to review a lot more radio singles.  Today is a nice, sunny (but chilly) Monday in Colorado.  I am happy to say that we have got XM Radio back in the car and it’s going great again so far.  Right now in my life, I’m just preparing for my trip to California and trying to pay off things (like my loans… ahh, it sucks.  It should be after I graduate, not before…but I may be able to kill some interest charges this way.)  Anyway, let’s get to it.  I’m going to start off with songs I didn’t review last time and skip songs I’ve already reviewed, so the numbers won’t be in order for some.

11. “Already Gone”: – Sugarland:

– (I chose the picture above because I think she looks beautiful there, but that will not change my opinion on the music lol) I just took another listen to it, and surprise, I actually think it’s okay.  Jennifer Nettles’s voice is tolerable here and the music isn’t bad: kinda folky and definitely more country-sounding than their other stuff (especially their last single).  I was delightfully shocked to hear “the guy” sing at the end…I think Kristian Bush is his name.  I’ll continue to change the channel, though, for my own sanity.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

16. “Start a Band” – Brad Paisley & Keith Urban:

– Hmm…this is kinda cool.  In this present time in the music industry, Paisley and Urban are definitely two of the most talented guitar players, and the production is an appealing blend of both of their guitar-playing.  Not a bad song, but I gotta admit, nothing really special special.  I’m sure they’ll perform this live on the CMAs, so that will be something to look forward to, kinda.  3.0 out of 5 stars.

18. “Here” – Rascal Flatts:

– I really hesitated to press play for this one, because I know what to expect: high-pitched screaming over loud drums and guitars with some fiddle, steel, or banjo thrown in.  Let me get something clear: I don’t hate Rascal Flatts, I actually like a few of their songs (maybe like three), but I don’t think they really care about country music and what they’re doing to it.  They may bring new fans to the genre, but IMO it’s usually the “wrong” kinda fans.  Back to the song: it’s no horrible.  Tolerable, and the mandolin’s got a nice touch (well, it’s a mandolin, how could it not?).  Vocals decent in parts, overdone everywhere else.  I’ll be nice.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

19. “Chicken Fried” – Zac Brown Band:

– Immediately after hearing this, I knew I’d like it (the title did turn me off, at first, but that proves you can’t judge a song by its title…)  A refreshing country sound with a refreshing voice.  It reminds me of another song from the past but I can’t quite think of it (but I’ll try to add to the post, if I remember).  Nice to see it’s doing so well on iTunes4.0 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

22. “Lookin’ for a Good Time” – Lady Antebellum:

– Ah, I love this song.  A new one-night stand song with exciting vocals.  When I first heard this song, I didn’t know exactly who it was…I thought it was duet but could not fit the voices.  For sure, I’m going to check this group out.  I liked their first single too (“Love Don’t Live Here”).  5.0 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

27. “Anything Goes” – Randy Houser:

– Instantly I just had to like this…a slight traditional production but with gospel/blues-touches throughout, and with a powerful voice, quite like Ronnie Dunn and Blake Shelton.  I’ve heard of this Houser guy before, but now I’m more intrigued.  Hopefully this charts a lot higher.  4.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

29. “Sounds So Good” – Ashton Shepherd:

– I can’t say enough good things about Ashton.  This was a fun uptempo for the summer and a big miss-hit.  Check out my recommendation on her.  “The sound of the cooler slushin’ on the bed of your truck…”5.0 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

30. “Don’t” – Billy Currington:

– Can you say “Must Be Doin’ Somethin’ Right” #2?  The songs are almost identical twins, except this one has a bit faster tempo and that’s about it.  Maybe the record label is trying to repeat the success of that song, but I’m not fooled.  Expect a real “sexy” video to accompany it.  It’s not a bad song IMO.  He’s got good vocals, but I think his talent is going to waste on his latest material.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

31. “Muddy Water” – Trace Adkins:

– Trace Adkins is one of the biggest disappoint stories I’ve ever known of.  He was so good in the past, and then got into the whole Big & Rich/Toby Keith/pimp-wannabe phase and hasn’t really left since.  It really all began with “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk” (which I admit, I still really like and occasionally listen to, but admit was a bad turning point.  It was great for his career, but bad for his music).  It may have began at “Chrome” or earlier… but it continued to “Swing” and all the **** that followed.  This single is okay, but I kinda feel betrayed by him and don’t like what he’s become.  I think it’s too late for him to redeem himself with me (I’m still a fan of his old music, though!) 2.0 out of 5 stars.

32. “She Wouldn’t Be Gone” – Blake Shelton:

– This is my first listen: seems like it’s a very pop-country produced song with quick-sung words meant to sound catchy, but just come out sounding trying too hard.  Maybe I’d appreciate the song more if it was stripped down?  Nothing special to me is all I can tell you.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

33. “Let Me” – Pat Green:

– I’ve never been crazy about Pat Green.  Granted I don’t really know his older music, before he “sold out”.  This tune is typical Nashville, but I’m kinda liking it.  Musically, it does sound like the chorus in his past single, “Dixie Lullaby”.  Not bad, Mr. Green, not bad.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

34. “Country Boy” – Alan Jackson:

– A.J. is my second favorite artist of all time, but I’m not gonna let him get away with this.  This is very average and while it is better than the typical redneck-pride song because it’s Alan, it does not hold up to his great music standards and I’m disappointed.  I think he needs to experiment with more producers and try some new things.  3.0 out of 5 stars.

35. “Feel That Fire” – Dierks Bentley:

– Catchy song with a nice melody.  I like how he uses steel guitar a lot and well.  The one thing that bothers me about the song is that it reminds me a lot of Jessica Simpson’s “Come On Over” in the chorus.  Otherwise, it’s a better song than most.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

36. “I Would” – Phil Vassar:

– For the most part, I don’t really care for Phil.  Overall, I’m not big on piano, except if it’s used in a honky-tonk kinda way.  I know.  He tries.  He tries hard.  He’s good at writing songs (for other people) but I still don’t feel much for his music.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

37. “Fine Line” – Little Big Town:

– I wanted to stop at #36, but I didn’t want to leave on a bad note.  LBT’s latest single is one of their best IMO.  Harmonies are as good as ever.  Music is different and welcome (a nice change that shows their diverse talents).  At first, I thought the “baby, it’s a fine line” was too repetitive but I’m fine with it now.  4.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

I was going to add more, but I’ve got to take off!  I may do some more in the future,  Later.

4 Comments

  1. Ok, Chicken Fried really reminds me of another song too, and I cannot put my finger on it; it’s driving me crazy. If you think of it, please let me know?! People have already suggested shooter jennings 4th of july and that the beginning of the song sounds like counting crows. That is not doing it for me!

  2. I’m still trying to figure it out, myself.

  3. FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT – IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT NO LESS! Alabama’s Dixieland Delight has the same melody in the chorus!!!!

  4. I’ll have to take a listen to that one again. I think there’s another song too, I just can’t think of.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

