iCF Single Reviews #4 (Week of September 28, 2008)

I’m hoping that I can get this done tonight.  I wanted to do another round of single reviews, since I haven’t done one in about two months or so.  There’s a good amount of newer material waiting for me to get my opinionization on with (not a word, but I like the way it sounds), so here it goes.  I’m using the Radio & Records website chart for this week, and I will take a listen to every song to its entirety (if I can stand it), and give it a fair review.  Fortunately (or unfortunately) I have heard most of these songs already, since the XM Radio service in the car is gone (yes, I’m crying the blues – it is horrible without our baby) and I am now listening to normal commercial country radio.  Good thing for me is that I usually listen to the alternative/independent rock station here more, so I don’t have to deal with some of the problems that plague today’s country radio.  I’ll review as far long as I can get before I have to take off.  Time for critical iCF to return (my last recommendations fired me up!)…

01. “Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It” – Darius Rucker:

– Wow, did not think this song would reach number one!  I already reviewed it in my last post, and my opinion has changed slightly.  It’s still a good song and the music is still pleasant.  I’m OK with the vocals… a bit overdone with the “don’t thank I don’t thank about it” part.  Gets kinda old, but I’m happy for Mr. Rucker.  I have yet to really check out his new album but from the clips I’ve listened to, it’s good-sounding music.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

02. “Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven” – Kenny Chesney:

– Already another hit?  Let me just say: George Strait does it much better (aside from the weird Jamaican accent thing he does at the end of his version…just bizarre).  I personally think it’s a disgrace that in years from now, Kenny Chesney will be considered a “legend” in country music history.  Thanks radio!  (I admit, I like a little of his music, but radio plays the heck out of whatever he releases, no matter what quality it is, so that’s not really saying much).  We’re in the Hurricane Kenny era, and our beaches are not safe.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

03. “She Never Cried In Front of Me” – Toby Keith:

– This is a different sound for Toby, and it’s not bad.  Not my favorite from him, but it’s a lot better than some of his other material that grew tiresome for me.  The production is heavy on the drums and electric guitar in the chorus, and with the strings, but whatever.  I like variety and I’m not really gonna complain here.  3.0 out of 5 stars.

04. “All Summer Long” – Kid Rock:

– Man, talk about overplayed… even on XM Radio, this song was cranked out on about every music station I listened to and I could not escape it.  I gotta give it credit: it’s a good song and very catchy, but all those listens, had me lunging for the next number to play anything but this.  Still, I’d rather hear this tune than hear the mother of overplayed songs – and the one that he took the music from – Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama” (don’t get started with that song…ahh).  3.0 out of 5 stars.

05. “Do You Believe Me Now?” – Jimmy Wayne:

– I also already reviewed this one and I was stoked and happy that it reached number one some weeks ago.  Now, Jimmy just needs to release his duet with Patty Loveless, “No Good for Me” (I’ve got no clip, unfortunately), and I’ll be in heaven.  4.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

06. “Just a Dream” – Carrie Underwood:

– The poppy piano intro music is a great way to start off this ballad, and it sounds beautiful with the voice to go with it.  She does tend to overdo it at times in the chorus, though, but it is distinguishable in her catalog.  The lyrics are just as good as the vocals, and this is probably one of her best singles so far.  I may not be a “fan” of her’s, but I support her.  4.0 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

07. “Troubadour” – George Strait:

– This one has grown on me since last time, and I’m liking it even more.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

08. “Waitin’ On a Woman” – Brad Paisley:

– You know, I like Brad overall, and this one is also still likable, though I’m finding I’m not really into Brad as much as I used to be.  My interest is fading.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

09. “Let It Go” – Tim McGraw:

– I’ve read some negative reviews about this single online and I was expecting something bad, but I find it really catchy, and yeah, it’s really poppy, but IMO the production and vocals are a nice pleasant mix of country and pop.  4.0 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

10. “Country Man” – Luke Bryan:

– I’m gonna stick to my review from last time.  I’m really glad that it reached top 10. 3 out of 5 stars.

11. “Love Story” – Taylor Swift:

– Readers of this blog should know I am definitely not a fan of Swift’s.  I see her as the one of biggest representations with what’s wrong with today’s country radio: bad vocals, bubblegum pop, and too much teenage-girl demographic appeal.  With that said, it still describes this new song, but I can’t deny that it’s not catchy.  I certainly hope that the Swift-craze fades fast, but I know that it’s not gonna happen.  The wheels are already in motion to the death of country music, and she just added more momentum to the situation… Still, I’ll give it a 3.0 out of 5 stars.

12. “Johnny & June” – Heidi Newfield:

– Old review still holds but my rating went up, because I was lucky to catch a listen to and see her live in Colorado when she performed at a local food fair thing we do during Labor Day weekend, and she performed well.  I only heard like one song since we were just walking and passing by, but it was cool.  3.0 out of 5 stars.

13. “Roll With Me” – Montgomery Gentry:

– These days, it’s usually a good idea to have Troy Gentry sing most or all of the singles for the duo, because his voice is better (and he doesn’t do that annoying mic twist thing that Eddie Montgomery does when he performs).  With this single, it’s not terrible… it works in some parts, and others, it does not.  Not really something I’d want to hear that often, though.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

14. “All I Ever Wanted” – Chuck Wicks:

– I’m still mostly enjoying this one, even with the fact that it sounds really Rascal Flatts-ish lol.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy here!

15. “You Look Good In My Shirt” – Keith Urban:

– (I just sound like a negative broken record, don’t I? lol)….but I just don’t like this song.  It’s so weird that, ironically, the only songs of Urban’s that I own are his super pop ones, the ones that I don’t really consider country at all (especially the first), and those are “Once In a Lifetime” and “I Told You So”.  I used to detest those but they grew on me.  Weird weird world.  This song really doesn’t do anything for me, though.  Sounds like he’s trying too hard.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

16. “I’ll Walk” – Bucky Covington:

– First listen: boring.  I liked Bucky on Idol, but liking a personality isn’t enough for me.  I’ll ask God that this be my first and last listen.  I’m just glad it was short.  2.0 out of 5 stars.

17. “Relentless” – Jason Aldean:

– I just heard this on the way here and I think it gets better with every listen.  3.5 out of 5 stars. Buy now!

I guess I’m done now, since I have to take off.  That didn’t go as smoothly as I would have liked, and I noticed I seem to really not like today’s country music lol (it don’t impress me much).  I’ll try to edit some things next time I’m online, and do the tags and such.  Maybe add more.  I felt like most of the songs were all on the old review I did.  Oh well.  Catch ya later!

2 Comments

  1. It’s funny what songs we agree on and what songs we don’t.:) Here are some of my notes on your reviews, in random order as I think of them:

    I’m not a fan of the Jimmy Wayne song. The whole album sounds too pop to me, even the song with Patty and I love me some Patty Loveless.

    The Strait song hasn’t grown on me yet. I really don’t like this album. I liked the It Comes Natural album much better.

    I guess I like the MG song a tiny bit better than I originally did. It’s catchy.

    Ditto to Kenny Chesney. There are a couple of songs that I like of his, but I’m definitely not close to being a fan.

    I like the McGraw song too, actually. I think it’s the best one he’s released from the album, though not necessarily my first choice.

    I like the original version of Keith Urban’s song, the version on the Golden Road album. There’s less rock guitar and it sounds more relaxed. I like the song though.

    I agree with you on Brad. I think we may be in the same place regarding him. I’ve really been a fan of his, but I’ve been growing cool toward him lately. I’m still holding on though, hoping to salvage our “relationship.” I didn’t like Fifth Gear nearly as much as Time Well Wasted or Mud On The Tires and “Waitin’ On A Woman” wasn’t even close to one of my favorite songs from Mud On The Tires. I think the melody is rather weak for one thing.

    Well, sorry for the long post. It’s kind of fun for me to just write my thoughts about songs without having to try to make it super coherent.:)

    I really enjoy your blog, by the way.

  2. Haha thanks. Yeah, Jimmy’s new stuff is super-pop, and I only own the duet. His voice is good, but from what I’ve heard of the clips, I won’t be buying it.

    There are some highlights on the new Strait album, but I agree that IJCN is much better!

    I’ll have to check out the older version of Urban’s song. I’ve heard about that but never really checked it out.

    Yeah, I dunno know what to think about Brad these days. I’m still a fan but not so crazy over him as I used to be.

    That’s fine. It’s encouraged haha.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

