Recommendation VIII: Waylon Payne

I decided to make a new blog entry tonight since I have nothing else to do tonight lol. I had some plans but they fell through and I’m not doing anything at all right now except surfing the internet and listening to my iTunes at the same time, and then blogging this now as well. I actually wrote the beginning of this entry last night, but I ended up watching a movie with a friend and didn’t finish, so now I’m continuing this on today (Saturday) b/c I’ve got nothing to do tonight since my friends are not here lol. A new entry was needed anyway! :p

My eighth recommendation is: Waylon Payne’s “Her” from his 2004 The Drifter album. I don’t think I had ever heard of Waylon at all until I saw him on TV with Lee Ann Womack at the 2005 CMA’s in New York City when she won all those awards, deservingly. Later on, I saw his acting performance as Jerry Lee Lewis in the incredible Johnny Cash movie, Walk the Line, and he did awesome in his portrayal. Through these, I was definitely interested in Waylon Payne, but I didn’t know his music at all. I read that his mother was the late-and-great Sammi Smith (“Help Me Make It Through the Night”) and that he was named after Waylon Jennings. I did remember that Womack made a list of “music that you should hear” on Amazon.com and she said: ” Not only is Waylon a great writer–but the heartache in his voice is so believable…it just pours out of the stereo speakers. Achingly great album. ” I have listening to clips of the album and it sounds good and I will have to buy it sometime, but the song that stood out most to me was “Her”.

Continue reading